This Album is Now Available

You can purchase this album from Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon

Apple Music Spotify

Dua Lipa – Future Nostalgia

  • Release date: 27 March 2020
  • Label: Warner records

With her 2017 self-titled debut album, Dua Lipa introduced us to a very contemporary pop artist. She created enormous choruses based on internet acronyms (like “IDGAF”) and revised the “New Rules,” which are guidelines for moving on from a shameful past in the digital era. That being said, there has been a recent comeback of the latter on the short-form video app TikTok.

And right now? In the album’s title track, “You want what now looks like / Let me give you a taste,” she croons. This time, however, things aren’t quite so simple; on her most recent album, she presents her vision for 2020 via the prism of the music she listened to as a child. The album’s main sound is disco, but it also has artists like Outkast, No Doubt, Prince, Blondie, Jamiroquai, and Moloko. Even if his contributions didn’t make the final edit, you can still hear the legendary Nile Rodgers’ influence throughout. Lipa even went into the studio with him.

The 24-year-old pop sensation sings  “Levitating,” swaggers on a rubbery bassline and synchronised handclaps while singing of a love that is “written in the stars.” “Pretty Please” pares down the layers to highlight the subtly pulsating bass, synth bursts that periodically appear, and an update from 1970s disco to late 1990s/early 2000s dance-pop. The song “Love Again” parodies White Town’s “Your Woman,” a 1990s alternative dance smash, while “Break My Heart” inserts the INXS hit “Need You Tonight

The musician had no idea how terrible things would be in the world when this record was finally published. However, that only emphasises how crucial it is that she completes her mission. “Future Nostalgia” is a vivid, striking compilation of pop grandeur that will let you to temporarily forget your worries.

Stream Dua Lipa’s Future Nostalgia and let us know what you think

Dua Lipa’s Future Nostalgia Tracklist

  1. Future Nostalgia
  2. Don’t Start Now
  3. Cool
  4. Physical
  5. Levitating
  6. Pretty Please
  7. Hallucinate
  8. Love Again
  9. Break My Heart
  10. Good in Bed
  11. Boys Will Be Boys