This Album is Now Available

You can purchase this album from Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon

Apple Music Spotify

J Cole – Born Sinner

  • Release date: 18 July 2013
  • Label: Roc Nation

The highly evocative second album of Roc Nation signee Jermaine Cole, titled Born Sinner, is titled after the Notorious B.I.G. song “Juicy”. By the time you listen to the end of the record, you will have witnessed him try on several well-known hats. He turns “Da Art of Storytellin Pt. 1″ (“Land of the Snakes”) by OutKast into a diatribe against Los Angeles. He performs a duet with the remaining TLC members called “Crooked Smile” on a song that can be seen as sacrilege or as a breezy style mash-up. He steals a brief clip from a Mike Epps show.

Born Sinner, which combines J. Cole’s skill as a lyricist with a more widely varied production palette, is a prime example of the artist’s overall musicianship. He can deliver some ferocious comebacks when the going gets tough (See: “Niggaz Know”). However, despite Cole’s expanding discography having multiple albums, we haven’t received the redemption that Jay-Z’s “A Star is Born” seemed to herald. (The latter’s apparent disinterest in Cole right now is so evident that Cole has to continuously dispelling rumours of a dispute.)


Stream J Cole’s Born sinner and let us know what you think

J Cole’s Born Sinner Tracklist

01. Villuminati
02. Kerney Sermon (Skit)
03. Land of the Snakes
04. Power Trip f. Miguel
05. Mo Money (Interlude)
06. Trouble
07. Runaway
08. She Know f. Amber Coffman
09. Rich Niggaz
10. Where’s Jermaine? (Skit)
11. Forbidden Fruit f. Kendrick Lamar
12. Chaining Day
13. Ain’t That Some Shit (Interlude)”
14. Crooked Smile f. TLC
15. Let Nas Down
16. Born Sinner f. James Fauntleroy