This Album is Now Available


Apple Music Spotify

Jhene Aiko – Chilombo

  • Release date: 6 March 2020
  • Label: Def jam records,epic records,Island Def jam

Jhene Aiko releases album titled “Chilombo”

She is a living legend, Jhené Aiko. Aiko has always been a melancholy and subdued presence; rather than making herself unavoidable, she prefers to lay back in the cut and let you come to her. She has never released a number one album or a top ten song, and no army of ardent fans has organised to suppress online criticism in her honour. However, Aiko, 32, has been quietly accumulating a stellar discography with a subtly significant impact over the previous ten years. She is maybe the most underappreciated musician of our time and one of the key figures in R&B for her generation.

Aiko’s third album is Chilombo,. It’s sort of a self-titled project, called after her last name (Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo is her complete name). Aiko came in second place behind Lil Uzi Vert’s Eternal Atake, despite the album debuting with a very remarkable 152,000 equivalent album units and 38,000 in sales, good enough for #1 in many weeks.

Actually, “None Of Your Concern,” which She and Big Sean recorded and released last year while they were still dating, is one among Chilombo’s numerous highlights. One of the album’s many raw moments, it’s a startlingly honest and occasionally graphic autopsy on their affair. Following her split with Sean, Aiko recorded a song in Hawaii using the healing sound of crystal alchemy singing bowls adjusted to particular chakra frequencies.

For an hour, the Chilombo original tracklist keeps this mood going. Even the album’s brief stylistic diversions, such as the melancholy funk track “Tryna Smoke” and the John Legend duet “Lightning & Thunder” (a throwback soul remake akin to Rihanna’s “Love On The Brain”), seem to have sprung organically from the album’s overall universe. She famously jokes on the first track, “I know life’s a bitch, but she could at least give me head sometimes.” It seems like every song has a similarly catchy line, which is frequently hinted to in the song titles. “You cannot define me,” she declares on the sparse “Define Me” track. She encapsulates her tiredness in the acoustic song “Born Tired”: “Baby, I was born tired.” Aiko’s portrayal of the “Pussy Fairy on the way” is one of the most memorable pictures of the year.

Stream Jhene Aiko’s Chilombo and let us know what you think

Jhene Aiko’s Chilombo’s Tracklist

1. “Lotus (Intro)”
2. “Triggered (Freestyle)”
3. “None of Your Concern” feat. Big Sean
4. “Speak”
5. “B.S.” feat. H.E.R.
6.”P*$$Y Fairy (OTW)”
7. “Happiness Over Everything (H.O.E.)” feat. Future and Miguel
8. “One Way St.” feat. Ab-Soul
9. “Define Me (Interlude)”
10. “Surrender” feat. Dr. Chill
11. “Tryna Smoke”
12. “Born Tired”
13. “LOVE”
14. “10K Hours” feat. Nas
15. “Summer 2020 (Interlude)”
16. “Morning Doves”
17. “Pray For You”
18. “Lightning & Thunder” feat. John Legend
19. “Magic Hour”
20. “Party for Me” feat. Ty Dolla $ign