This Album is Now Available

You can purchase this album from Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon

Apple Music Spotify

Latto – 777

  • Release date: 25 March 2022
  • Label: RCA, streamcut

This single puts Stephens on the receiving end of the criticism that has followed her since she mistakenly made fun of herself under the previous alias, Mulatto, after winning the reality show The Rap Game in 2016. “The negative definition of Mulatto might have been holding me back,” she said to NME last year. She elucidated that her newly adopted acronym signified “lottery” and expressed her hope that it would bring “promising fortune materially, spiritually, and emotionally.” The 23-year-old takes a more audacious stance on the tough anthem “Trust No Bitch,” saying, “Big Latto is short for lottery / So ‘fuck I look like losing?” It makes sense that the title of this album alludes to a slot machine prize.

The album’s trappy percussion is mostly slathered with blaring horns, crisp acoustic guitar, and, in the case of the 21 Savage-featuring “Wheelie,” a buzzing syntheziser that would put a swagger in Mario’s 8-bit step. Perhaps inevitably, the mega-hit (almost 64 million Spotify streams and counting), “Big Energy,” is the feel-good high point. It’s a silly, enjoyable summer anthem wrapped up in a squelchy sample of ’80s new-wavers Tom Tom Club’s “Genius of Love.”

Consider the unforgiving tracks “Sunshine” by Lil Wayne and Childish Gambino or “Bussdown” by Kodak Black, where she begs for attention, saying, “Got it out the mud without no handouts.” In the NME interview, Stephens stated that ignoring the stigma that female rappers continue to experience would be “ignorant,” noting that “it’s flat-out in our face every day.” This demonstrates once more that Latto was equal to the finest of them

Stream Latto’s 777 and let us know your thoughts

Latto’s 777 tracklist

1. “777 Pt. 1”
2. “777 Pt. 2”
3. “Wheelie” feat. 21 Savage
4. “Big Energy”
5. “Sunshine” feat. Lil Wayne and Childish Gambino
6. “Like a Thug” feat. Lil Durk
7. “It’s Givin”
8. “Stepper” feat. Nardo Wick
9. “Trust No Bitch”
10. “Bussdown” feat. Kodak Black
11. “Soufside”
12. “Sleep Sleep”
13. “Real One”