This Album is Now Available

You can purchase this album from Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon

Apple Music Spotify

Meghan Trainor – Takin it back

  • Release date: 21 October 2022
  • Label: Epic Label

Released via Epic Records, it comes two years after her albums Treat Myself and A Very Trainor Christmas, both released back in 2020. A somewhat return to form for Trainor, Takin’ It Back finds the singer utilizing the doo-wop sound that made her 2015 Title debut album so successful. Complete with fifteen songs that last for just over forty-five minutes, is the blast from the past magic yet again?

That’s a good question, and the answer truly depends on what each listener hears. In retrospect, Title had a pleasant and refreshing throwback tone. Therefore, if you enjoyed it, you will probably enjoy what Trainor aims to achieve with Bring It Back. With these ideas in mind, “Sensitive,” an acoustic/a cappella song, opens the new album. Trainor sets the tone by easing you into the album’s tracks, which include the title tune, the more danceable “Shook,” and the catchy, more Pop song “Made You Look.

Meanwhile “Bad for Me,” featuring Teddy Swims, is a more melancholic piece leading the way for the soft, beautiful “Superwoman” which fades flawlessly into “Rainbow.” “Rainbow” is another mellow trip that will get under your skin before slowly picking up the pace. On the other end of the spectrum “Breezy” has an island vibe, “Mama Wanna Mambo” a tango dance floor feeling, and “Drama Queen” continues with a catchy rhythm. Bringing it back down, “While We’re Young” is dressed with a sweet swaying melody, but “Lucky” is more of a sexy fling type song that will certainly make you smirk. Rounding it all out is the upbeat “Dance About It” and romantically irresistible “Final Breath.”

In the end, Meghan Trainor has created yet another fun album that will pull you both onto the dance floor… as well as underneath the sheets. Filled with great melodies, catchy rhythms, solid lyrics, and strong vocals, it feels like a sincere effort from the singer

Stream Meghan Trainor’s Takin it back and let us know what you think

Meghan Trainor’s Takin it back Tracklist

  1. Sensitive (feat. Scott Hoying)
  2. Made You Look
  3. Takin’ It Back
  4. Don’t I Make It Look Easy
  5. Shook
  6. Bad For Me (feat. Teddy Swims)
  7. Superwoman
  8. Rainbow
  9. Breezy (feat. Theron Theron)
  10. Mama Wanna Mambo (feat. Natti Natasha & Arturo Sandoval)
  11. Drama Queen
  12. While You’re Young
  13. Lucky
  14. Dance About It
  15. Remind Me
  16. Final Breath