This Album is Now Available

You can purchase this album from Apple Music, Spotify and Amazon

Apple Music Spotify

Victoria Monet – Jaguar II

  • Release date: 25 August 2023
  • Label: RCA records

Victoria Monét has demonstrated that her talent is unmatched with the release of Jaguar II, her maiden studio album, by being a joker and a party girl. The 34-year-old is a true triple threat who can entice pop and R&B fans with her social media-friendly lyrics, singing, and dancing.

She and Grammy winner Lucky Daye deliver a seductive homage to getting stoned on Jaguar II. In another scene, she urges her gold-digging friends to quit hounding her for sh*t. She is both sweet and stern. But it’s perhaps because the “On My Mama” video lived up to the sparkling image Monét has earned as a lighthearted live performer—her forthcoming tour sold out in minutes—that the video received a million views in just three days. She performs intricate routine after intricate routine in the music video, which is a breathtaking ode to Black fabulousness. It has a nod to Ciara’s “1, 2 Step” as well as some instantly recognisable memes from the past.

The new album’s hallmark is its bold brass portions, which give it an opulent and royal vibe. The horns are notably strong on “Cadillac (A Pimp’s Anthem),” which sounds like a feminist version of Outkast’s “SpottieOttieDopaliscious,” “On My Mama,” and “Smoke” featuring Lucky Daye. Drawing inspiration from legendary artists such as Earth, Wind and Fire and Buju Banton, who are both included on the album, Jaguar II has a deep and majestic sound throughout, accentuated by a stank-face bass and crunchy guitar. However, it’s also an homage to the music recorded during Monét’s lifetime, with contemporary hip-hop cadences and dance signatures throughout, especially on the Kaytranada collaboration “Alright.” Monét stated to Rolling Stone that while the 1970s inspired her, she also desired to balance influence and invention.

Stream Victoria Monet’s Jaguar II  and let us know what you think

Victoria Monet’s Jaguar II Tracklist

1. “Smoke” feat. Lucky Daye
2. “Smoke” (Reprise)
3. “Party Girls” featuring Buju Banton
4. “Alright” (prod. by Kaytranada)
5. “Cadillac (A Pimp’s Anthem)”
6. “How Does It Make You Feel”
7. “On My Mama”
8. “I’m the One”
9. “Stop (Askin’ Me 4Shyt)”
10. “Hollywood” featuring Earth, Wind & Fire and Hazel Monét
11. “Good Bye”